How Femtosecond Fiber Lasers Are Propelling Industrial Innovation

Characterized by robustness, small form factors, and attractive cost-performance ratios, state-of-the-art femtosecond fiber lasers are not only powering Nobel Prize-winning research but they are also enabling new applications in industrial environments.

Beginning with an overview of the basics of femtosecond pulse generation in optical fibers, Sperling discusses the latest femtosecond fiber laser design principles, examines current technology challenges, and illustrates performance highlights and key benefits that ultrafast lasers have to offer.

He further discusses how femtosecond fiber lasers have evolved from tools once considered too complex or tedious to maintain, into increasingly mature solutions for use in emerging industrial applications. Highlights range from terahertz-based nondestructive testing in the automotive industry to 3D nanoprinting of fiber interconnects in the high-volume assembly of photonic integrated circuits (PICs), to process control via mid-IR spectroscopy for industrial surface hardening applications.

January 9, 2023
10:15 am PST / 1:15 pm EST / 7:15 pm CET
Photonics Spectra Conference 2023

Register now

Presenter:

Dr. Jaroslaw Sperling - Business Development Femtosecond Fiber Lasers