Nobel Prize in physics recognizes attosecond science

Nobel Medal twice We send our deepest congratulations to Anne L'Huillier (Lund University, Sweden), Ferenc Krausz (Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (MPQ), Germany & Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany), and Pierre Agostini (The Ohio State University, USA) for winning the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics. The award given “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter” means recognition of the attosecond science and ultrafast photonics communities.

We are particularly proud that the MPQ once again celebrates a Nobel Laureate in its ranks. Menlo Systems' cofounder Ted Hänsch won the Nobel Prize in physics in 2005 for his work on laser-based precision spectroscopy and the optical frequency comb technique.

Read a review on Menlo Systems' founding story by the Süddeutsche Zeitung.